Store Updates & A Life Glimpse

I’m feeling a sense of urgency about spinning these days, I know my “free time” such as it is, is going to be even more limited by the first week of March.  Because this space was created to spare people the yarn talk that permeates my life, I try to keep my life out of it. But in this case, I guess I should make an exception as what I’m up to is going to conflict with wool biz. A couple months ago I applied for a fitness challenge, hosted by a local television station and fitness club. 256 people applied, I was one of 20 selected. I have been paired up with a partner that I do not know and we are going to try to beat the 9 other teams in a quasi Biggest Loser/Bootcamp style 8 week challenge. For the record, I don’t expect to survive. 😉 There will still be yarn, just not in the quantities I’m used to generating between a full time job, parenthood and everything else that grapples for importance in my life. Or at least not until I decide if I’m going to make it through this. I did, after all, sign up for it so I can’t whine too much. 

In the meantime, here you go! 😀

Bunny Bedlam

Do you ever look at something and see it in a way that it was likely not intended? When it comes to spinning, I notice this happens to me more and more often as time goes on. Another question I often find myself thinking is “Can that be carded?” I will run just about anything through my drumcarder, believe it. In this case, three colors of Easter batting, likely meant to nestle candy or sweet figurines. Only in my case I scrambled it through the carder with some white merino wool and generous handfuls of iridescent angelina fiber.  I handspun it all into 124 yards of yarn and then plied it with clear nylon thread. Total yardage is 124 yards, WPI is as thick as 8 and as thin as 12. 

Yellow, green and pink fiber is 100% colorfast polyester.

Goldie Rocks

I kettle dyed merino roving using acid dyes in shades of yellow, gold, orange and olive. I handspun it into 210 yards of single ply thick and thin yarn. WPI=Aproximately 10 to 11.

Confetti Cake

I carded 15 colors of Peace Fleece with white merino wool, I handspun it into a color infused yarn. 150 yards, WPI=approximately 10.

The Dark Side Of Confetti Cake

I carded 15 colors of Peace Fleece with gray/black merino wool, I handspun it into a 132 yards of single ply yarn, WPI=approximately 10.

Until next time!

5 thoughts on “Store Updates & A Life Glimpse”

  1. Any tips for spinning with Peace Fleece batt? I don’t have a carder (yet)….just a very brand new spinner with a background in felting! (:

    1. Hi Alisa! The only advice I can give is to have someone card it with a longer stapled wool on a drum carder or use hand cards. I’ve tried spinning Peace Fleece straight from the batt/roving and ended up with a super slubby/bumpy textured yarn. Not bad if that is what you are seeking but not overly sturdy, either. The photos above are PF mixed with a merino/mohair blend roving. Hope that helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

