Tour de Fleece Day 17 and 18

Some progress from the last couple days!

This yarn was not spun by me, but I did dye it for a lovely new customer at Etsy, it was my first Alchemy request!

Sea Sea Sea, 465 yards, worsted weight:

Here are some results for some assorted silk products that I dyed:

Silk Throwers Waste, 1 ounce:

Tussah Silk Noil, 1 ounce:

Silk Coocoons. I had to remove the worm from these, I won’t be doing it again. Extremely disturbing.

Tonight’s contribution to the Tour is 263 yards, as yet untitled:

That’s all folks! 🙂

One thought on “Tour de Fleece Day 17 and 18”

  1. thank you for telling us what those cocoons are! i saw them on your flickr and just couldn’t imagine. i’d love some more info, like how big the worm inside was and how the cocoon is rendered into something useful. I have never learned anything about the process of making silk, other than knowing it is made by worms 😀
    love your blog btw, i haven’t commented yet but it’s been in my reader for a while now. good luck w the rest of the tour de fleece (soooo cute!) you always make the most wonderful things.

Leave a Reply

