New Stuff and Historical Stuff

I’ve been busy with my day job, as usual. Somehow in the midst of everything else though I’ve managed to keep up with spinning, dyeing and some other crafty endevors.

One of my most recent spins, I have ridiculous amounts of love for this:

The Hunting Of The Snark. 116 yards. WPI: 10 to 11. 5 ounces. Merino blend wool, acid dyes.

I realized recently that February will mark my third year of spinning. I’m not entirely sure where the time went. When I look at this yarn I think “Wow, I am a spinner of yarn.” I know that sounds arrogant, but that’s not how I mean to come off! 🙂 It’s just amazing to me to realize that I started out using a drop spindle I bought on Ebay and am now here 3 years later with two wheels and a literal arsenal of tools and supplies that I’ve bought with sales of yarn. In a way I’m really glad it took me so long to get what I’ve got. If I’d ran out and bought everything at once I probably would have lost interest.

Then there’s this, cobbled together in a fit of YES I CAN when I saw a kit for the same exact thing at Hobby Lobby.

It’s a bunch of random jewelry bits and beads that I’ve been hanging on to forever and a day, some safety pins and some elastic. Voila. I wore it yesterday and a lot of people commented on it. I might make a few more, even if they are just for me because this kind of jewelry is right up my alley. Of course, nearly all the bead sellers I bought from at Etsy a couple years ago are now gone. This bothers me greatly.

I guess that’s all for now kids, thanks for reading my sadly neglected little yarny blog! 🙂

2 thoughts on “New Stuff and Historical Stuff”

  1. I. Covet. That. Yarn.

    *grin*

    I’m gonna try plying for the first time soon. Gotta find out how to do it with a drop spindle, though. I’m a bit nervous about it…

  2. I SO want to get back to my Drop Spindle…I think I can, I think I can!! Your stuff is BEEYoutiful, I think I may splurge on some. 😀

Leave a Reply

